The Cherry Tomato

Beware  - growing tomato is an addiction.

The reason for that is – there are so many different varieties of tomato, different types of plants – determinate, semi-determinate, indeterminate, different shapes of fruits round, elliptical, pear, kidney bean shaped , different colors – red, pink, yellow, green, striped, maroon, black, and different taste.

and when you experience, by observing the growing plants, the difference in the leaves, the vigor, the truss, fruit setting, one fine day you find yourself hooked to growing tomatoes.

Should you be worried, that you would get hooked? I think, it is far better to get hooked to it, than to do unnecessary things and or think about unnecessary matters.

This post is dedicated to a verity of tomato called ‘Cherry Tomato

 

 

 This verity is Red cherry baby by Navalakha seeds. The plant is dwarf and the fruits are set in long truss and taste sweet, its an early variety, good for containers and small balconies.

This is a wonderful cherry tomato verity from England called Gardener’s Delight this is an indeterminate verity the pic you see is already 7′ tall, and has started forming trusses.

 

The close look at the truss, now these trusses are interesting, very interesting as they are not like fish bone arrangement there is a truss within a truss within a truss.

I have taken the closeup of the truss with a white paper in the background so that the arrangement looks clear. there are more than 125 flowers in this single truss. and there were around a dozen such trussed on the main stem (I removed all the side shoots)

Fruit formation – I had sowed seeds of this verity in the months of January and when it started flowering , I faced the same problem of flower not opening properly and pollination along with many other fellow gardeners this summer. However interestingly as soon as the wheather became cloudy, I noticed bees visiting the plant and within a week fruits were formed.

The plant attained a height of 10′ and with each growing foot grew my difficulty in handling it, and a very old, experienced, and wise gardener advised me to experiment, and tie it up to form spirals, I did that and this is the result. Its a simple trick to handle indeterminate creepers, open to further experimentation.

 

The sweet red berries on the vine.

And harvested.

The other cherry tomato verity I grew, is called Cerise (it means cherry in French)

This plant was a bit delicate compared to gardeners delight and the trusses were also not as dense. but due to this load the stem got bend and almost got broken and was hung by a thin line when I noticed it. I immediately did the plastering of the broken bone.

After the plaster.

And, it was successful.

 

Happy Gardening

-FG


Technorati : , , ,

Tags: , , , ,

26 Responses to “The Cherry Tomato”

  1. Neel Says:

    Very cool!

  2. geekgardener Says:

    This is what I call awesome harvest. You have grown them so well and it is paying you back. I was very curious to know the update of GD and cerise. I had sown only H&Ts and due to severe heat the yield reduced and now it is picking up. I am definitely getting hundreds if not thousands. Will post about it sometime.

    Interesting truss arrangement in GD. How much of those ~125 fruits set? any approx idea. I know summer took its toll nevertheless I say your plant has done well. What is the nutrient program/schedule?

    good job on the plastering. 🙂

    Happy harvesting.
    gg

    • fungardener Says:

      Thanks GG,
      You play an important role in inspiring me to grow tomatoes. I believe ~30-40 fruits were set, however those were set on the same trusses which were just dropping flowers in summer. I have sowed it again to see, how it flares in more suitable weather – the winter.

      My nutrient schedule was situational as usual, I just look at the plant and decide what it must be needing(the NPK ratios), and most of the times they react positively. This time I also added the silica solution once.
      It would be nice to see H&T snaps.

      I have sowed a verity – Utkal Deepti, actually the seed packet was gifted to me by my father and was lying for some time, I sowed it last weekend and searched about it and found some interesting facts in a data sheet that this plant height is 40CM and it yields around 75 fruits / plant. Let’s see.
      Regards,
      -FG

  3. narul Says:

    Hi FG,
    My God! Cherry Tomato looks awesome. Any one seeing these pictures would very much like to become gardener soon. Your concern and care for the plants is noteworthy.
    I am also eager to know the nutrient and schedule.
    narul

  4. fungardener Says:

    Thanks Narul,
    I have mentioned about the nutrient schedule in the previous reply to GG. If you need any detail please let me know, I would be happy to tell you.
    -FG

  5. Neel Says:

    I’m proceeding on two fronts given the limited space I have and approval needs from the missus…

    1. Am planting Spinach, Coriander and Fenugreek in small flat containers. Spinach is thriving and Coriander is doing moderately good. Fg failed miserably, so now I’m going to experiment with different seeds and giving them a soak in fert mixed water for 18 hours. Lesse!
    2. I imported colored capsicum seeds from parkseeds.com and am going to grow them hydroponically. I just got the seeds and GH fert, so am off to the market this week to get seed starting material…

    Are there any opinions on what material should be used for seed starting keeping in mind I’m going to go hydroponic with the plant after 6-8 weeks?

    Cheers,
    Neel

  6. FunGardener Says:

    Hi Neel,

    Congrats for successful import of seeds and nutes. And for the beginning of hydroponics cultivation.

    According to the experiences I have had related to the starting mix. vermiculite works best, though you could use cocopeat and perlite mix as well.

    Although it doesn’t matter which growing medium was used before shifting them to hydro setup, you just wash the roots and shift them to the setup, however it doesn’t work vice versa.

    It would be good to see the snaps of your current setup. You could start a blog, or else mail them to me – gardeningfun@gmail.com

    All the best.
    -FG

  7. Bugg Says:

    These things are so so good!!!

  8. FunGardener Says:

    Thank you bugg!

  9. container vegetable gardening Says:

    A fine example of container vegetable gardening. I like to see the progress of the plant as it grows. I hope my cherry tomatoes turn out like this!

  10. FunGardener Says:

    Thanks, and happy gardening. I could not see pics of your gardent in your website. It would be nice to see them.
    -FG

  11. Anil Mahato Says:

    Can you please let me know where can i get Keradix in Pune?

  12. fungardener Says:

    Sorry for the late reply Anil, I had purchased a rooting hormone (rootex) from Naik Agro, Swargate. You could try there.
    -FG

  13. Malathi Says:

    Hi
    Those are SOME tomatoes!
    Can you pls let me know which are the plants that grow well in shade? ideally veggie or flowering variety. I have plenty of space with light but no sun.
    cheers!

  14. sometheng Says:

    I plant cherry tomato too, but yours is much better than mine.

  15. FunGardener Says:

    Hi sometheng,
    Which type of cherry are you growing?
    -FG

  16. sometheng Says:

    I am not sure (I threw away the seed bag :p) Your tomato plants impressive. I was desperate to bear much fruit. Currently I have not planted it again. How do you get the plant have many fruit like that? (I post my tomato picture at my blog just now)

  17. container vegetable gardening Says:

    Thanks for this article. My cherry tomatoes really turned out like yours.

  18. Cherry Tomatoes « Gardora.net Says:

    […] Did you ever grow cherry tomatoes? They can now be sown! Some interesting varieties: http://j.mp/fKJQIt […]

  19. Naz Says:

    Hi FG
    I have got seeds for Tumbler variety tomatoes. I stay in Pune. Tell me when should i sow the seeds? May will be too hot ?? or is it OK to do so now.
    Awaiting your reply,
    n

  20. fungardener Says:

    Hi Naz,
    You can sow the seeds right off, the only care needs to be taken is avoiding direct sun light, you could either keep them in shade or else keep the small containers in which the seeds are sown in a box which is covered by a polyethylene sheet (transparent household carry bag would do) having small holes for the air to pass in.
    If you could take that extra bit of care of the seedlings needed in this hot weather, you would be rewarded with delicious tomatoes in rains.

    Plase update about the progress.
    -FG

  21. heritage seeds Says:

    Absolutely a great hub – can’t wait to get atarted. Excellent tips and most informative. A big thanks! Voted way up!

  22. Gardeners Delight Cherry Tomato | Landscaping - Gardening Says:

    […] #split {}#single {}#splitalign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: 0px;}#singlealign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: 0px;}.linkboxtext {font-size: 8px;line-height: 1.4em;}.linkboxcontainer {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;border-color:#000000;border-width:0px; border-style:solid;}.linkboxdisplay {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;}.linkboxdisplay td {text-align: center;}.linkboxdisplay a:link {text-decoration: none;}.linkboxdisplay a:hover {text-decoration: underline;} function opensingledropdown() { document.getElementById('singletablelinks').style.display = ''; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = 'none'; } function closesingledropdown() { document.getElementById('singletablelinks').style.display = 'none'; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = ''; } Arugula Mediterranean Certified Organic SeedPrune Cherry Tomato Plant Early to Strengthen StemRed Cherry TomatoRed Cherry TomatoThe Cherry Tomato […]

  23. offerte Says:

    offerte…

    […]The Cherry Tomato « Fungardener’s Blog[…]…

  24. Cherry Tomato Plant Leaves | Garden | Home Ideas Says:

    […] The Cherry Tomato Fungardeners Blog source […]

Leave a Reply

