Hydroponics Experiment

This my first post to any blog ever. I got inspired by the nice posts by geek gardener thanks gg.

I love gardening and have developed a container garden in my balcony. have got around 25 pots.

sometime while browsing Internet I came across the science of growing plants hydroponically and found it wonderful I got

impressed to an extent that I started reading about it whenever I got free time. After enough reading it was time for me

to experiment and this post is all about my first hydroponics experiment. hope you all like it and guide me with it.

 I started with tomato and egg plant seeds.

 

 

tomato_dec172

 Dec 17, ’08

tomato_29dec081

The progress  – on 29 Dec 08

tomato_14jan09_1

Progress as on 14 Jan, ’09 (buds have started setting in)

tomatoroots_14jan092

 

roots submerged in nutrient solution.

Tags: ,

22 Responses to “Hydroponics Experiment”

  1. geekgardener Says:

    Hi Fungardener.

    Welcome to the gardenbloggers world!!!..

    I am glad that my posts inspired you to start blogging on gardening. I can see your passion already with the pictures you posted. Your hydrophonics experiment is really exciting and the results are very much positive. Do you see some teeny weeny tomatoes by now starting to get bigger?

    What flower is it ? gazania? Continue the good work. Also , can you let us all know from which part of the world you are.. and hey i am curious about the formulations of the nutrient solutions that you use…

    Keep the posts coming..
    happy gardening.

  2. fungardener Says:

    Hi gg,
    Thanks a lot for your reply. (was actually waiting for it).
    The tomato plant has not started flowring yet. however I have got another one in t 2ltr. soda bottle which would start flowring in a day or so.
    Yes it is gazania. will post some pitunia pics also. The answer to my location is hidden in the 3’rd pic of tomato plant. will post another pic today which would give you a clear idea.
    The nutrient sol’n I used till last week was a 20-10-10 + micro nutrients as the plan was in vegetative gwoth stage. this weekend I have changed it to 13-40-13 + micro nutrients as I saw the small buds.
    Have you ever tried hydroponics? and hey what do you do with leaf miners?

  3. Sunita Says:

    Hi fungardener! Just stumbled across your blog. Interesting! I’ve never seen tomatoes grown that way before.

  4. geekgardener Says:

    Hi ..

    The plants look healthy and 13-40-13 should do the trick :). Regarding your location may be i will wait for a clearer pic ;)..

    No I haven’t tried hydroponics (using just water) yet. I am into soilless mix since quite some time. But your attempts inspires me to try it too. I will take your help when I plan to attempt.

    I usually use neem oil+dish soap spray and I have got mixed results. So I am not sure 100% that might work..

    keep the posts coming
    gg

  5. sonny76hifi Says:

    Hey there fungardener.
    you’ve got a great thing going out there.the pics look really impressive.I’ve been readind a lot about hydroponics lately but since everything in india is at such a nascent stage that one cant really imagine where to get all the ingredients from.you’ve proved that wrong and managed to do really well.Internet has info from the western countries where everythin is so handy.A big problem here is to find a good nute.I wonder where u get it from?
    Cheers

  6. fungardener Says:

    Hi,

    Thanks for appreciation it really motivates. I had also been doing the same as what you are doing for finding out details about hydroponics, DIY setups, water pumps air pumps, lighting sources, weighing scale, tubes connectors, nutrients etc.

    It is very difficult to find these items exactly as what you require in India. However it is not impossible also.
    About nute’s – You don’t get ready made hydroponics nutrients in India however you can make your own by mixing the chemicals in the given form required for different growth stages if the plants.

    You can refer to the tomato formula here: http://www.howardresh.com/Hydroponic-Culture-of-tomatoes.html

    Are you also into apartment gardening?
    Let me know if you what to know anything related to gardening I would love to share whatever I know.

    Regards,
    -FG

  7. Neel Says:

    Hello!

    Followed a link from GG’s blog – have to say, fantastic! Thanks for all the great info you’re putting out.

    I’ve been doing a lot of reading on this whole subj of Hydro and Aero. I very recently ordered GH nutes and some seeds, hopefully should get them by July end latest. I expect to start seedlings by Aug 1st week and transfer by Aug end..

    I thought I’d more or less end up using Cocopeat for medium, but I see you’re using Hyrdoton – where do you get it in Pune and for how much?

    Have you experimented with any form of Aero?

    Cheers,
    Neel

  8. FunGardener Says:

    Thanks Neel,
    Cocopeat could be used as a hydroponic growing medium.
    You can get hydroton from:
    1. Jagtap Nursary, near solapur bazar, golibar maidan.
    2. Girmae farm, baner road
    Or you could order from Ratanshi Agro, Mumbai.

    You could get perlite from Naik Agro, Swargate.

    I have not tried aeroponics as it needs constant observation, as if the pumps is not on for a longer duration (power cut, pump failure, etc.) the plant can wilt will be damaged and could as well die, as in aeroponics the roots are not directely in contact with the nute. Sol.
    Are you based in Pune?
    -FG

    • Neel Says:

      FG,

      🙂 Indeed, I’m based out of Pune! Thanks for the inputs!

      I tried configuring both an Aero and a RDWC/BioBucket setup, but finally concluded – as you point out that Aero is kinda beyond me right now…

      I also remember seeing posts about an LED gro light by another visitor, just don’t remember if it was here or on GG – do you?

      Currently commercial LEDs by Philips/Havells etc are ridiculously priced, so I think I’m gonna go with a Havell’s CFL for atleast the initial Seeding lighting. Also thinking about a heat bottom to warm the seedling tray as things are getting “brrrr” here in Pune. My grandma’s old heating blanket will probably be overkill 😀 Any inputs?

      Cheers,
      Neel

  9. FunGardener Says:

    Hi,

    Here is the link related to LED grow lights. http://geekgardener.in/2009/12/15/so-you-want-to-start-a-kitchen-garden-part-ii-seed-starting/#comment-786

    Are you planning for indore growing? I was also thinking about it sometime back, however as you mentioned high price of these lights, lack of time to assemble my own and the weather in Pune which supports year-round growing, I have dropped the idea for now.

  10. FunGardener Says:

    Can we import GH nutes? what all seeds you h ave purchased?
    Happy Gardening
    -FG

  11. Neel Says:

    Yes, I’m planning for limited indoor grow as of now. I’m primarily planning this as a PoC to grow peppers with a view to grow commercially in another year.

    Yes we can import GH nutes – the powder versions. I have used http://www.shopyourworld.com and bought from Amazon.com. I also bought seeds from http://www.parkseed.com using their service. I’ll post my experience here as soon as I receive the stuff, somewhere around EoM.

    Cheers,
    Neel

  12. Www.Bofigo.Com Says:

    Excellent post. I was checking constantly this weblog and I’m inspired! Extremely helpful info specifically the ultimate section 🙂 I maintain such info a lot. I was looking for this particular info for a very lengthy time. Thank you and good luck.

  13. premium files Says:

    We absolutely love your blog and find many of your post’s to
    be exactly I’m looking for. can you offer guest writers to
    write content for yourself? I wouldn’t mind writing a
    post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write concerning here.
    Again, awesome web site!

  14. best camcorder Says:

    This is because everyone hates trying to watch a video that is not stable and blurry.
    It feels very good in your hands and the controls are strategically placed so that you
    can easily reach them with your fingers while holding
    it. This newest version of Flip camcorder lets you take
    up to 2 hours of high definition videos and download them
    into your PC or MAC using the built-in USB connector.

  15. Mel Says:

    This design is incredible! You certainly know how to keep a
    reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well,
    almost…HaHa!) Fantastic job. I really enjoyed what you had to say,
    and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  16. photoshop Says:

    Nevertheless photographs are not all that Photoshop is great
    at. This review appears to be like at what it has to
    provide. You would also ought to acquire comments and
    have the ability to find and accept your weak points. Once you have your Storyboards
    all set, the next step is to create the Animatic.
    One example of a job that you might take on would be photo restoration.
    Photoshop CS video tutorials are good also for people who
    need to be guided in every step of the way. Click on the arrow button to enter
    the Actions menu and then “new Set. Photographs are one thing that doesn’t stand the test of time very well and many people are looking to have their cherished heirlooms restored. This kind of service is more of an image editing program which is equivalent to masking. People do not like to visit slow sites that involve wastage of time.

  17. webpage Says:

    Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is magnificent,
    as well as the content!

  18. music marketing Says:

    Greetings! This is my first visit to your blog!
    We are a group of volunteers and starting a new
    project in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us
    useful information to work on. You have done a outstanding job!

  19. facebook Says:

    Thankfulness to my father who informed me about this website, this web site is truly awesome.

  20. Ashutosh Bhave Says:

    Hi FG,

    Very impressive blog indeed!
    But is it still active? last post is sometime in 2013?
    I am from Pune and about to start some dwc/ flood and drain systems, having the usual teething problems.
    Let me know if you are still active…

    Best regards,
    ashutosh

    • fungardener Says:

      Hi Ashutosh,

      Yes, I am still active, but haven’t been able to post much.
      Whats the progress on the hydroponics setup you were planning?
      Regards,
      -FG

Leave a Reply

